Quick Links: Skip to main page content Skip Navigation

Aging Network

The Administration on Aging (AoA) provides national leadership, funding oversight and technical support to the Aging Network which is charged under the Older Americans Act with the responsibility to develop a comprehensive and coordinated system of home and community based services for older people and their family caregivers. The Aging Network reaches into every community in the nation playing a vital role in strategic planning, program development and administration and service delivery.

The Aging Network consists of the following groups:


Administration for Community Living (ACL)
ACL brings together the efforts and achievements of the Administration on Aging, the Administration on Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities, and the HHS Office on Disability to serve as the Federal agency responsible for increasing access to community supports, while focusing attention and resources on the unique needs of older Americans and people with disabilities across the lifespan.


Administration on Aging
The mission of the Administration on Aging (AoA) is to help elderly individuals maintain their dignity and independence in their homes and communities through comprehensive, coordinated, and cost effective systems of long-term care, and livable communities across the U.S.

ACL funded resource centers
Source: AoA
Content Type: webpage
The Administration on Aging (AoA) is committed to assisting the Aging Network in its efforts to develop and implement effective programs and services that serve older adults, persons with disabilities, and their caregivers. AoA supports a number of resource centers designed to provide information to consumers and technical assistance to professionals on a variety of topic areas. The psgr provides information about these AoA-funded resource centers.

Older Americans Act
Source: AoA
Content Type: webpage
This web page has information on the Older Americans Act and links to the current text and most recent revisions.


State Units on Aging
The Administration on Aging (AoA) awards funds for nutrition and supportive home and community-based services to the 56 State Units on Aging (SUAs), 244 Tribal organizations, and 2 Native Hawaiian organizations. In addition, funds are awarded for disease prevention/health promotion services, elder rights programs (long-term care ombudsman program, legal services, and elder abuse prevention efforts), the National Family Caregiver Support Program (NFCSP) and the Native American Caregiver Support Program (NACSP).


Area Agencies on Aging
The State Units on Aging (SUAs) grants funds to the Area Agency on Aging (AAA) designated for each Planning and Service Area (PSA). The AAA determines the needs of older persons in the PSA and works to address those needs through the funding of local services and through advocacy.


Aging and Disability Resource Center
The Aging and Disability Resource Center Program (ADRC), a collaborative effort of AoA and the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), is designed to streamline access to long-term care. The ADRC program provides states with an opportunity to effectively integrate the full range of long-term supports and services into a single, coordinated system. By simplifying access to long-term care systems, ADRCs and other single point of entry (SEP) systems are serving as the cornerstone for long-term care reform in many states.